Songs From a Curious Ear

As I shop around my first full length collection I have begun referring to my three books of poetry as my “Ditch Trilogy.” Much like Neil Young’s ditch trilogy albums in the 70’s each one sees me fighting to get from the ditch of depression back to the road to carry me away. So Psych Ward Blues is me buried in the ditch. Mercury, In Retrospect is me climbing up out of the ditch. Curious Ear, as I’m calling it, is me making my escape.

Whereas the first two collections were autobiographical the third is a music centric collection capturing all the joy of rock and roll, soul, dub reggae, jazz, hip hop and all points in between. It was written in a marathon session of two weeks of writing and sits at two hundred pages. I cannot wait for you to read it.

Leave a comment